Netherlands European Champions


The Netherlands wrote history with becoming UEFA Women’s EURO 2017 winners

In a fully packed FC Twente stadium, a record breaking 28,182 visitors, witnessed the kick-off of the final of the UEFA Women’s EURO 2017. Both the Netherlands and Denmark qualified for the European final for the first time. Neither of them had ever won the trophy before. The stadium was mostly covered in orange, but there were Danish supporters.

Denmark driven and strong

A lot could be won today, and it showed. Both teams were driven and tried their best. In the 6th minute of the match the Danish team got a rewarded a penalty. Nadia Nadim signed for the 1-0. The Danish supporters loudly cheered as Nadim celebrated her goal. The Dutch audience kept the atmosphere alive, continuing singing and cheering – giving the Dutch Lionesses wings. In the 10th minute Vivianne Miedema scored the equalizer.

Both team kept the pressure on, but didn’t manage to finish their chances. Until the 28th minute, when Lieke Martens scored the 2-1, with a perfectly timed shot. Denmark reacted with a fierce counter attack, but Dutch keeper Sari van Veenendaal managed to block the shot. In the 33th minute Pernille Harder countered through the Dutch defence – leading to the 2-2.

After this Denmark showed they played better football than the Dutch team. They kept the ball and kept the pressure on their opponent. It remained 2-2 till half time.

The Netherlands pulled trough

Both teams showed they were driven after half time. The Dutch kept the pressure on the Danish team and played mostly on their side of the pitch. In the 51th minute they got a free kick near the Danish box. Utter most accurate captain Sherida Spitse hit the net: 3-2. The Netherlands kept searching for another goal, but not until the 88th minute they scored the 4-2. Vivianne Miedema scored her fourth goal of the tournament – making her top scorer of the Dutch team. Her goal brought The Netherlands a 4-2 win over Denmark and crowned themselves the winner of UEFA Women’s EURO 2017.